Annually two awards are presented to members for their outstanding service to CAPACRAO and higher education at our meeting.  Nominations for these awards are requested prior to the June meeting and forwarded to the Award Committee for review and final selection. 

The Award Nominations for 2022 are open. The deadline is April 29, 2022. Click here to learn more

Emerging Leader Award
The Award was created in 2015 to honor an emerging leader in their first eight years in Admissions, Records, or Enrollment Management who has made a significant contribution to CAPACRAO. The nominee should demonstrate commitment to the organization by regular conference attendance; program participation as presenter, recorder, or moderator; committee involvement; or other professional activities. The award may only be given to one person per year and is not necessarily awarded each year.

2015: Kristin Waters, University of Maryland Baltimore County
2016: Pheng Xiong, University of Maryland Baltimore County
2017: Jamie Holmes-Kriger, Salisbury University
2019: Shannon Hardester, Salisbury University
2020: Johnika Dreher, Prince George's Community College

Steven E. Smith Award

The Steven E. Smith Award was established in 2015 to commemorate the services of the first president of CAPACRAO Steven Smith, Registrar of University of Maryland Baltimore County.  The award is a distinguished service award and is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to CAPACRAO.  The person should have been in CAPACRAO a minimum of five years.

2016: Steven Smith
2017: Carol Harrison, College of Southern Maryland
2019: Jamie Holmes-Kriger, Salisbury University & Diane Major, College of Southern Maryland
2020: Aaron Urbanski, Johns Hopkins University